New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

june62
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
7 Posts

Posted - 28/02/2014 :  16:31:18  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi I am new to snake keeping. We got our son a snake for xmas after much thought he is over the moon with him. I as a mum would appreciate a little advice. Sunny as my son has named him began to shed but only shed his head and a little of his neck. We increased the hummidity but nothing. I took him back to where we got him the staff we good kept him over night said they had soaked him and put him in a moss box and managed to get the rest off. However now five days later his skin seems very dry dull and flaky in parts. Can anyone help as to what else we can try ? By the way he is about seven months old and about two and a half feet long. Thanks in advance for reading .

SilverWings
Yearling

United Kingdom
740 Posts

Posted - 28/02/2014 :  17:24:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If it's dry, dull and flaky then I would suggest that they didn't in fact get the shed off, or at least not all of it. Did they show you the shed skin? There are a number of things you can try, I would suggest a bath in lukewarm water to loosen any skin left then allow him to run through a damp flannel or towel, the friction will help get the skin off. I recently invested in some repti shedding aid for one of mine who was having difficulty shedding, and I cannot recommend it enough.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Zoo-Med-WFC-20-Repti-Shedding/dp/B0002DJ0B0

I sprayed it liberally on the affected snake, rubbed it in, and left her overnight. The next day the skin was soft, flexible, and easily peeled away. She was able to have a complete shed with no problems. Some people rub olive oil on the affected parts to loosen and moisten the skin, never tried it myself but it probably couldn't hurt. You could also add a splash to his bath.