New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Basilintheratatouille
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
8 Posts

Posted - 12/12/2015 :  19:41:33  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi everyone! I'm new and the proud owner of Basil, who I chose as an early Christmas present. He was born this year (I'm not sure when) and I'm in love with him. I say 'him'; he hasn't been sexed, but we had a female cat called Basil so it could work for either sex, I reckon

I kept a corn a decade or so ago when I worked for a company that employed animal-lovers like me to go to schools and do animal handling workshops, but they gave us precious little training, and I only knew the basics, so for all intents and purposes I'm a newbie.

Basil has grown in inch (from 13" to 14", although it's obviously hard to measure him accurately as he's so damn wriggly!)since I got him just over a fortnight ago, and is definitely thicker, and just today his eyes have gone milky so I'm excited to see when his first shed will be.

At the moment, we've got him in an Exo-terra tank, which I know is not ideal, but we have two young children, so we really needed something lockable. The shop we bought him from (Warrington Pets and Exotics) was excellent and advised on how to set up the heat mat properly, and he seems happy enough in there, is feeding well etc (although he doesn't constrict, which I gather is normal when feeding pinkies?).

I'm so thrilled to be a snake-owner again. I'm surprisingly in love with Bas and am looking forward to exploring more of your site. I've already found it incredibly useful for pre-purchase and setup information!!

Thanks,

BITR

Donnie
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
3215 Posts

Posted - 13/12/2015 :  12:19:49  Show Profile  Click to see Donnie's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Hello and welcome

1.1 Corns (Anery Stripe, Amel) 1.0 Rootbeer 0.2 Jungle Carpet Python 1.0 Zebra Jungle Carpet Python 1.0 50% Diamond Zebra Carpet Python