New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Serpentine
Snake Mite

Ireland
16 Posts

Posted - 15/09/2010 :  19:40:16  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi, I am new to this and have been reading up on caring for a snake. Have seen a lot mentioned about stress but have been unable to find how to tell if your snake is stressed. Could anyone give me some pointers please?

herriotfan
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
5853 Posts

Posted - 15/09/2010 :  20:24:35  Show Profile  Click to see herriotfan's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
I'm not an expert but I guess snakes can react in many different ways to stress.
Some will rattle, hiss, strike, bite. Others will hide away and refuse to come out. Some will be hyperactive!
Like any living creature they all have their own characters and personalities so it's not an exact science.
Once you get to know your snake you will be able to spot any changes in his/her normal behaviour which may be an indicator of stress.
Are you worried about your snake at the moment or is it just something you wondered about?

Husband....Very Understanding!!! (Phil)
Son & Daughter (Kevin & Carol)
Granddaughter (Eva)
3.4.0 Cornsnakes Amel (Sidney) Caramel Stripe (Sultan) Amber (Cleo) Carolina (Phoebe) Anery Motley Stripe (Penny) Snow (Lily) Caramel (Holmes)
1.2.0 Royal Pythons(Peeps, Pandora & Pepsi)
1.0.0 Hognose (Hudson)
2.1.0 Dogs (Dillon, Alfie, Ellie)
0.1.0 Senegal Parrot (Peanut)
1.1.0 Bearded Dragons (Bonnie & Clyde)
1.0.0 Crested Geckos (Echo)
0.2.1 Hermanns Tortoises (Ebbie, Rosie & Twiglet)
0.1.0 Guinea Pig (Dolly-Pipsqueak)
0.1.9 Tarantulas (Poppy, Gypsy, Bumble, Insey Winsey, Sonic, Cookie, Raven, Fudge, Titch & Sox)
??? Foster animals
Go to Top of Page

Serpentine
Snake Mite

Ireland
16 Posts

Posted - 15/09/2010 :  20:37:45  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks Herriotfan,